Prologue – Trials at making my perfect Sourdough Baguettes

Go back to the “Classic.

I’ve been working on making my perfect Sourdough Baguettes.

Crumb : Chewy / Open / Airy / Holey

Crust : Extra crusty / Nice golden color / Happy oven spring

Tons of flavor / Good texture

Above all, DELICIOUS.

Yuko - Sourdough

It is amazing only this much of sourdough starter makes bread rise.

Last time I baked my sourdough baguettes with 100 % hydration of final starter,

I got a nice holey / chewy crumb, perfect crust and beautiful flavor, but couldn’t get the oven spring on my baguettes…

Baguette - Sourdough

Sourdough Baguettes – January, 2013

Use 100% hydration final starter,

Gold medal, AP flour 

The other day, I just happened to bake Sourdough + Orange peel + Earl Grey Tea Baguette with 60% hydration final starter,

and got perfect “Oven Spring” !!!

Yuko - Sourdough + Earl Grey + Orange Baguette

Recently, I’ve been baking Batard or Boule quite often and I always use 60% final starter for them.

At that time, I changed my mind for no particular reason and decided to make Baguette with that dough.

I expected some minor difference might happen because of different % hydration starter, but didn’t expect this huge difference.

I was in shock. Of course I was happy about this result but …I had kind of mixed feelings.

Then, the next moment, I suspected it might come out nicely because I used Tea instead of Water…

or, could be because of Orange peel!?

I needed to experiment again with simple ingredients – starter, flour, water, salt.

Yuko - Sourdough Baguettes

Sourdough Baguettes – April, 2013

Use 60hydration final starter

Gold medal, AP flour 

I got a nice oven spring this time too.

Ok. The key could be  final starter.

“Why don’t you change water % of the final dough?”

Because I really like the texture of an original sourdough baguette recipe, so I don’t want to change it.

 I am going to test more with different % hydration of final starter, also different brands or types of flour, and these combinations

to compare the results and find my perfect sourdough baguette recipe!

Yuko - Sourdough

I will (try to) update each result of this project :-)

Stay tuned!

Comments
4 Responses to “Prologue – Trials at making my perfect Sourdough Baguettes”
  1. Zita says:

    Keep up the great work! I haven’t tried making a baguette, mostly because my oven is too small, but when I purchase a new and larger oven I think I’ll have a similar quest.

    Cheers! :)

  2. Baking bread is like science! I never experiment with different hydration starters, but I really should, your baguettes/batards always look amazing!

Leave a Reply

  • Copyrighted.com Registered & Protected 
QINV-DHLY-I56S-H8AS
