Kuromai + Kuromame Cake

I know.

The title sounds really Japanese.

Guess what!?

This cake is super Japanese!

Yuko_Kuromai + Kuromame Cake

Kuromai + Kuromame Cake

I was invited to a dinner party at my friend’s house the other day,

and I wanted to make some “wabi-sabi” dessert for her and her husband :-)

wabi-sabi ← Please click here to know what is “wabi-sabi” ???

Yuko_Kuromai + Kuromame Cake

I decided to use “Kuromai / Kurogome” which means Black Rice in Japanese as one of the ingredients for my cake.

Yuko_Kuromai + Kuromame Cake

I ground Kuromai to use it for my sponge cake.

Look at this color!

It’s absolutely beautiful Fujiiro (Wisteria) color!

Yuko_Kuromai + Kuromame Cake

Rice powder ( Flour ) makes your cake not only fluffy but also really moist / silky :-)

Yuko_Kuromai + Kuromame Cake

My Kuromai (Black Rice ) Powder Sponge Cake.

The texture was fantastic and it had a subtle of Rice flavor as well!

Yuko_Kuromai + Kuromame Cake

Another Japanese ingredient for my “wabi-sabi” cake was sweet Kuromame ( Black Soy Bean ) simmered with brown sugar syrup.

This particular bean is actually very rich in anti-oxidants and iron!

It might look a little bit scary, but extremely healthy :-)

Yuko_Kuromai + Kuromame Cake

Rooibos Tea Cream and sweet Kuromame, layered with my Kuromai (Black Rice ) Sponge.

The Rooibos Tea Leaves I used for this cake were actually the gift from my friend who hosted this dinner party!

That tea leaves smell really good, so I wanted to use it for her dessert!

Yuko_Kuromai + Kuromame Cake

One of my friends looked at this photo and said “It looks like a traditional Japanese landscape garden!!! “

Exactly.

:-)

Comments
10 Responses to “Kuromai + Kuromame Cake”
  1. ChgoJohn says:

    This cake is stunningly beautiful. Well done!

  2. bakeaffairs says:

    This cake looks divine!

  3. narf77 says:

    Gorgeous and artistic and hopefully we will get the recipe soon. I would love to attempt this cake for my very adventurous daughters who are into Korean food at the moment. I think it would knock their socks off :). Well done on another culinary sweet triumph :)

  4. Stefano says:

    Fantastic as always!

  5. moonscouts says:

    Wow! This is amazing! I’m so glad I found your blog! Using rice powder in your cake…that is so interesting, and I can’t wait to try it. Thanks for sharing! :)

Leave a comment

  • Copyrighted.com Registered & Protected 
QINV-DHLY-I56S-H8AS