Baguette – Long Cold Fermentation 2

A winter day,

This is right before I put the dough in the fridge.

It took 10 hours at room temperature to get to this stage.

 ↓
_1020846_2

I then put the bread dough into the refrigerator for 12 hours and it looked like this.

Baguette - Long Cold Fermentation 2

Then after leaving it out for 1 hour at room temperature…

Baguette - Long Cold Fermentation 2

It became very fluffy and doubled in size, while also having a lot more air bubbles than my last attempt.

Baguette - Long Cold Fermentation 2

Maybe using the baking stone instead of the metal mold helped them….

Baguette - Long Cold Fermentation 2

…to sing “pachi-pachi” ( the sound of baking bread in Japanese ) loudly  from the oven!

and do you see that nice open crumb?

Baguette - Long Cold Fermentation 2

I really like this technique, but I need to try it every season to know how the yeast works under the different temperatures.

Baguette - Long Cold Fermentation 2

So far, this is the best baguette I’ve ever baked in my life!

 

Please have a look at my Baguette Summary as of 2.10.2013

 
Leave a Reply

  • Copyrighted.com Registered & Protected 
QINV-DHLY-I56S-H8AS
